peanut butter + chocolate = love

My next baking adventure was a peanut butter chocolate layer cake for my partner’s birthday.  I used my now favorite chocolate cake recipe (you can find it here) and doubled the recipe so I could make a 5-layer cake.  It’s become my favorite because it’s so versatile; the recipe calls for yogurt and coffee and thus you can choose to use a flavored variety of either which will give the cake a great depth of flavor.  For this particular cake though I stuck with the staples: plain greek yogurt and bold coffee.

100_1909

I buttered and floured each pan instead of using oil.100_1911

I used peanut butter cream as a filling between each layer and over the cake as a whole.  You can find the recipe I used here, though I substituted shortening for butter.
100_1913

In addition to the peanut butter cream filling, each layer of cake also had a healthy dose of milk chocolate ganache between the cake and peanut butter cream.  Recipe can be found via the same link as the cake though I don’t own a microwave so I did everything over low heat on the stove.
100_1915

Now that each component is prepared, we can start the assembly!100_1916

Chocolate cake, milk chocolate ganache, peanut butter cream & repeat… & again plus a few more times.100_1921

Chopping up the peanut butter cups for the decoration.100_1923

Cake is assembled, now for decoration!  Once I frosted the whole cake in peanut butter cream, I added one more layer of chocolate ganache on top and allowed it to cascade down the sides of the cake.100_1924

Finished. 100_1939

Side shot.  I lined the base of the cake with whole peanut butter cups so it wasn’t jealous of the top.
100_1947

Some handmade flags and letter candles complete the look.
100_2000Time to eat!  5 layers of deliciousness.

3 responses to “peanut butter + chocolate = love

  1. I am THRILLED you love my cake recipe that much and that you’ve made this amazing 5 layer cake with it! WOW!!!

    PB is my other fave beside chocolate and this cake is heaven for me!

    Thanks for linking to my site and for making the recipe – I love seeing posts like this!

  2. Great post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I am impressed!
    Very helpful info particularly the closing phase :) I handle such info much.
    I used to be looking for this certain information for
    a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  3. Pingback: Grand Marnier Brownie-bottomed Cheesecake for a Grand Guy | pursuingmylife·

Leave a Reply

