Savory Chocolate Pasta

I’ve never attempted to make pasta before but this recipe piqued my curiosity enough to give it a try.  Two things to note up front: I made this without “oo” fine flour &  a pasta machine. The original recipe called for both. Their recipe is below:

2 1/4 cups of “00” flour (fine ground for pizza and pastas)
3/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder
3 large eggs

I see now that the pasta machine would have come in handy but instead I got a good arm workout and thick pasta, neither of which are the end of the world. I have no idea if finer flour would have drastically changed anything; the texture and taste seemed fine to me using all-purpose flour.

100_2517

Start by mixing the flour and cocoa powder and create a well for the egg. I made a smaller batch and used 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour + 1/3 cup cocoa powder + 2 eggs.

100_2522

Crack the eggs into the well and mix with a fork until a dough forms and you can knead with your hands.

100_2527

Once the dough is formed, wrap in plastic and leave at room temperature for 60 minutes. You can always add a bit more flour or water if your dough is too wet or dry respectively.

100_2528

After the hour is up, roll dough out…this is the arm workout part or where a pasta machine would come in handy!

100_2531

I used a crinkle roller to cut long strands of pasta.

100_2537

Ta-da!

100_2538

Boil water and cook until al dente keeping in mind that fresh pasta will cook faster than dry. I ate my with a rich alfredo sauce and cracked pepper over the top. The flavor is so unique because you taste the chocolate but not the sweetness, it’s all very subtle but wonderful at the same time.

Leave a Reply

